On Wednesday, September 20, 2017, a man was involved in a fatal crash after a teen lost control of his car. The teen had allegedly been driving at high speeds and weaving in and out of traffic before the Long Beach wrongful death occurred along Pacific Coast Highway.
According to the OC Register, the 17-year-old had been driving a 2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse by the intersection of PCH and Studebaker Road in the afternoon, and swerved to get around a turning vehicle rather than stopping. This caused his car to go into the eastbound lane hitting the 58-year-old driver’s 2016 Toyota Corolla that was going to turn right on PCH.
An off-duty firefighter was a witness to the crash, and stopped to assist the 58-year-old, but the driver died at the scene. The teen was treated at the scene and transported to the local hospital for moderate injuries. It is unknown if he will face any charges from the Long Beach accident.
Teen Driving Laws in California
These incidences raise some serious legal considerations. In 2006, California enacted laws intended to prevent teen driver crashes that included provisional license restrictions on what teenagers can be allowed to do after getting a driving license. Here’s a look at some of the restrictions:
- Driving between 11 pm and 5 am is illegal unless in the presence of an adult, such as a parent, guardian, licensed senior driver or an instructor.
- Teen drivers are also not allowed to carry passengers 20 years or younger in their vehicles.
Violation of these laws can hold the parent or guardian of the teen culpable and can include legal penalties, such as large fines.
If you or a loved one has been in an accident involving a teen driver not following the law or another driver, you could be entitled to compensation. At Walch Law, we are here to help you with your auto accident injuries. Our personal injury lawyers can assist you in determining what your legal recourse is, and how to move forward with your case. Do not hesitate to contact us today regarding your situation.